• m1
  • m2
  • m3
  • m4
  • m5
  • m6
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

Amat-Mills Prize

Prize winners

The Amat-Mills Award Committee of HRMS 2013, after a careful consideration of all nominations received, made the decision that two nominees Mr. Johannes Burkart (supervisor Dr. Samir Kassi) and Mr. Francesco Cappelli (supervisor Dr. Paolo De Natale), written in alphabetical order, receive the 2013 Amat-Mills Awards for their outstanding experimental work in high-resolution molecular spectroscopy. The award ceremony took place during the Gala Dinner and the two awardees received signed copies of the "Handbook of High-Resolution Spectroscopy" (Wiley) amended with a one-year subscription to Wiley's WIREs CMS publication, the handbook "Laser-Based Measurements for Time and Frequency Domain Applications" (CRC Press), and the book "Rotational Structure in Molecular Infrared Spectra" (Elsevier), as well as free registration to the next HRMS meeting taking place in Dijon in 2015. Congratulations to both winners!

About the prize

The 2013 Amat-Mills Award will be awarded to a young spectroscopist either working for a PhD or having completed it within the last 12 months (at the time of the meeting).

The award will consist of a diploma and the recipient will receive a selection of books, including the recent large three-volume Handbook of High Resolution Spectroscopy (eds. M. Quack and F. Merkt, Wiley 2011).

The candidates must present a regular poster at the “23rd Colloquium on High Resolution Molecular Spectroscopy” based on their PhD work and assume the sole responsibility for the presentation during the entire session.

Applications are limited to one per research group and must be nominated by the PhD research supervisor who will briefly give the reasons for the nomination (max. 1/2 page). This information, together with the start and expected end dates of the PhD, and a printed copy of the abstract of the poster to be selected for the competition, should be sent to the local organizer (hrms2013@gmail.com) before July 31st, 2013.